6.2 C
London
Thursday, April 22, 2021

Baylor’s DiJonai Carrington says referees missed late foul vs. UConn: ‘I do not see it as a controversial name’

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Monday evening’s girls’s Elite Eight contest between Baylor and UConn led to controversy — or, should you ask one Bears participant, it merely ended with an enormous officiating error.

After rebounding UConn’s Christyn Williams missed free throw with lower than 20 seconds to go in regulation, Baylor known as a timeout to attract up a last play. Going through a one-point deficit, the Girl Bears bought the ball into the arms of DiJonai Carrington, who drove down the left facet of the lane and got here up nicely quick on a bounce shot.

The dwell angle appeared to indicate two Huskies defenders going straight up and forcing Carrington into a troublesome try. UConn held on for a 69-67 win and superior to its thirteenth consecutive Remaining 4. What an unbelievable battle between two school basketball powerhouses.

Oh, wait. This angle . . . Yeah, that is a variety of contact.

When requested concerning the no-call after the sport, Carrington informed reporters that there was no controversy as a result of she was hit on her face and arm. Baylor coach Kim Mulkey unsurprisingly agreed with that evaluation.

Carrington additionally despatched out a postgame tweet: “You’ll be able to’t swallow your whistle when the sport is on the road. Movie doesn’t lie.”

UConn coach Geno Auriemma stated he hadn’t rewatched the play, however he famous that he might additionally return and take a look at doable missed calls from the primary half. 

“A name is a name, and you have to dwell with it,” Auriemma stated.

The main focus was (understandably) on the no-call, however Baylor additionally blew an enormous alternative to place the sport out of attain within the second half. The Bears held a 55-45 lead with two minutes left within the third quarter, however the Huskies rattled off 19 consecutive factors to realize a 64-55 benefit early within the fourth. Mulkey didn’t burn a timeout in the course of the entirety of that 19-0 run, which occurred after Baylor’s DiDi Richards left the sport with a hamstring damage.

There are a number of unanswerable questions from this recreation. What if Mulkey had used a timeout? What if Richards had by no means gotten harm? What if Auriemma had entry to movies? (OK, possibly not that final one.)

However the greatest one: What if Carrington had gone to the road for 2 free throws? A name is name — and so is a no-call — and you have to dwell with it.



- Advertisement -

Latest news

- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here